Latest News

2015 UCD Smurfit School Business Journalist Awards Shortlist announced

  • Date: Fri, Nov 13, 2015

Share this article

UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School has announced the shortlisted business journalists for the 2015 Business Journalist Awards. The awards, now in the 9th year, are run in conjunction with the Business Journalist Association of Ireland (BJAI) and are sponsored by open eir.

These awards are designed to honor excellence in Irish business journalism across the media spectrum, with entries, submitted by nominees themselves or on behalf of journalists by editors or peers, adjudicated by an independent panel of judges, comprising business, journalism, economic and academic leaders.

Commenting on the awards, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, Dean, UCD Business, and a member of the judging panel said: “These awards are an important initiative for UCD Smurfit School to recognise the individual efforts of the business journalist community who contribute to our collective understanding of important business, financial and economic issues that shape our lives. Since the awards were established nine years ago the media landscape has changed considerably but it is clear from the quality of the entries year-on-year that an exceptionally high standard of business reporting is an increasingly vital aspect of our information age.”

Since their launch, the Business Journalist Awards have received over 1000 entries from business journalists across print, broadcast and online media outlets in Ireland. The winners of each category will be honoured at an awards ceremony on November 30th and will each receive €1,000 prize money.

Shortlist 2015

Category A - Business News Story
Colin Coyle - The Sunday Times
Justine McCarthy - The Sunday Times
Colm Keena - The Irish Times
Tom Lyons - The Sunday Business Post

Category B - Economic Commentator
Richard Curran - Irish Independent
Stephen Kinsella - The Sunday Business Post
Laura Slattery - The Irish Times

Category C - Business Analyst
Brian Carey - The Sunday Times
Jack Horgan-Jones - The Sunday Business Post
David Murphy - RTÉ
Fearghal O'Connor - The Sunday Business Post

Category D - Specialist Business Reporter
Emma Kennedy - The Sunday Business Post
John Kennedy - Silicon Republic
Charlie Weston - Irish Independent

Category E - Business Interview
John Mulligan - Irish Independent
Mark Paul - The Irish Times
Emmet Ryan - The Sunday Business Post

Category F - Upcoming Journalist
Jack Horgan-Jones - The Sunday Business Post
Gavin McLoughlin - Independent News & Media
Colette Sexton - The Sunday Business Post

Category G - Technology Reporter
Will Goodbody - RTÉ News
Mark Hilliard - The Irish Times
Pamela Newenham - The Irish Times
Emmet Ryan - The Sunday Business Post
Lynda O'Keeffe - The Sunday Business Post

The Outstanding Achievement Award & Business Book of the Year will also be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Nov 30th 2015.

Discover our Rankings and Accreditations