Latest News

Irish Business Journalist Winners Announced at UCD Smurfit School Awards

  • Date: Mon, Dec 5, 2022

Share this article

Dublin, Monday, 5 December 2022: Ireland’s leading business journalists were recognised at the 15th UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School Business Journalist Awards held in Dublin today. The awards honour excellence in Irish business journalism across the media spectrum and are sponsored by the Bank of Ireland. This year's ceremony also included the inaugural 'Women in Business Journalism Award. The awards are run in conjunction with the Business Journalists Association of Ireland.

Business Journalist Awards 2022

The winners of the seven categories for 2022 are:

Business News Story of the Year – Peter O'Dwyer & Lorcan Allen, Business Post
for their submission, “Government prepares to concede on corporate tax rate of 15 per cent”.

Audio Story of the Year – Adam Maguire, RTÉ News
for his submission, “Inflation Shopping Basket”.

Business Features of the Year –Maria Delaney (Noteworthy), Ian Curran (The Journal) for their submission, “Holy Land: How much money are religious orders pocketing from lucrative property sales?”

and Sean Pollock, Sunday Independent for his submission, “Irish Tech Firms answering a Global Call of Duty”.

Business Analyst of the Year – Niall Sargent (Noteworthy); Rory Winters, Luke Butterly & Tommy Greene (The Detail), and Ella McSweeney (The Guardian), Noteworthy / Journal Media for their submissions, "Suspected false documents and illegal dumping: the murky world of poultry manure” and “Canary in the coal mine': Protected nature areas under pressure from poultry farming”

Business Interview of the Year – Fearghal O'Connor, Sunday Independent / Mediahuis Ireland for his interview with Richard O’Halloran, “‘I felt abandoned’ – Businessman O’Halloran tells of China ordeal”.

Women in Business Journalism Award – Elaine Burke, Silicon Republic
for her submissions, “Outercom: A new class of founders answering the Intercom buzz” and “Digital Services Act: The EU’s strict new rules for online content”

Upcoming Journalist of the Year – Cáit Caden, Irish Examiner for her submissions, “From war-torn Ukraine to bartending in Killarney”, “Dalton Philips: The man at the centre of the Dublin Airport mayhem” and “Electric Ireland won’t cut off customers ‘as a result of departure of KBC and Ulster’”.

The winner of each category is awarded a €1,000 prize.

Professor Gerardine Doyle, Director of UCD Smurfit School and Associate Dean of UCD College of Business said:

“Celebrating our milestone 15th year, we are proud to recognise the best of Irish business journalism—work which enriches the public’s understanding of critical issues of the day and how they impact business and society.”
“We are also proud to award our first Women in Business Journalism Award to Elaine Burke of Silicon Republic. This award celebrates consistent excellence from a female business journalist for work that fosters a greater understanding of business and economics, demonstrating outstanding writing, reporting, analysis or commentary.”

Myles O’Grady, Group CEO, Bank of Ireland said:

“We are delighted to partner with UCD Smurfit School once again in sponsoring this awards programme and extend our congratulations to today’s winners and nominees. These awards showcase the capability of Irish business journalists who deliver reporting of the highest standard. Great business journalism is an critical component of a thriving business community, so it is important that we acknowledge the talent and commitment of all the journalists here today.”

Judging Panel:

  • Professor Gerardine Doyle, Director of UCD Smurfit School and Associate Dean of UCD College of Business;
  • Professor Patrick Gibbons, Professor of Strategic Management, UCD College of Business;
  • Tony Golden, Former Chairman Citibank Ireland Corporate and Investment Banking
  • Conor Keane, Senior Consultant at Heneghan, former Business Editor, Irish Examiner, journalist and documentary maker;
  • Áine Kerr, Entrepreneur and Broadcaster, Head of Content Safety Analysis, Spotify;
  • Professor Colm McLaughlin, Professor of Employment Relations, Vice Principal for Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, UCD College of Business;
  • Susan O’Keefe, Executive Director of Yeats Society Sligo;
  • Nóirín O’Sullivan, former Assistant Secretary General for the UN Department of Safety and Security; former Irish Garda Commissioner, Member of the North American Advisory Board of UCD Smurfit School and also Board Member of the National Maternity Hospital;
  • Professor Federica Pazzaglia, Subject Area Head of Management, UCD College of Business;
  • Anton Savage, Broadcaster and a founding Director of The Communications Clinic.

Discover our Rankings and Accreditations