Latest News

UCD Smurfit School Business Journalist Awards 2017 – Winners Announced

  • Date: Mon, Dec 4, 2017

Share this article

Ireland’s top business journalists were recognised today at the 11th UCD Smurfit School Business Journalist Awards held at the Westbury Hotel, Dublin. The awards, which recognise excellence in business journalism – in print, broadcast and online formats – were, once again, sponsored by open eir and run in conjunction with the Business Journalists Association of Ireland.

The winners of the seven categories for 2017 are:

  • Business News StoryMark Paul and Ciaran Hancock, The Irish Times – for their submission ‘INM confirms clash over Newstalk bid’
  • Economic Commentator/Business AnalystBrian Carey, The Sunday Times – Foreign Direct Investment, NAMA & Independent News & Media
  • Business FeatureIan Kehoe, Sunday Business Post/RTÉ – for his TV documentary about vulture funds entitled, ‘The Great Irish Sell-off”
  • Specialist Business ReporterMark Tighe, The Sunday Times – for his two submissions one on Denis O’Brien with the second entitled, ‘Judging the Judges’
  • Business InterviewGretchen Friemann, INM – for her interview with Jeremy Masding, CEO of Permanent TSB
  • Upcoming Journalist of the YearPeter O’Dwyer, Ireland Edition of the Times
  • Technology ReporterAdrian Weckler, INM – for his article on the Dark Web

In addition to the seven categories listed above, an Outstanding Achievement Award was presented to Ingrid Miley of RTÉ for her contribution to business journalism across both radio and television in a career spanning almost 40 years. In acknowledging her contribution, UCD Smurfit School highlighted the insight and clarity she has brought to some of the most complex industrial relations issues Ireland has faced, including major strikes and reporting on negotiations in public sector pay and reform.  Ingrid’s work on dealing with issues such as the exploitation of workers and precarious contracts was also singled out.

In winning this award Ingrid becomes the first female recipient of the accolade and joins a distinguished group of seven previous Outstanding Achievement Awardees: Frank Fitzgibbon; Brendan Keenan; Cliff Taylor; Damien Kiberd; Richard Curran; Matt Cooper and Charlie Weston.

Professor Anthony Brabazon, Dean, UCD College of Business, said: Now in its eleventh year this awards ceremony remains an important initiative for UCD Smurfit School as we seek to acknowledge the very best of business journalism which enriches the public’s understanding of the important issues of the day. While the media industry in Ireland faces many challenges its journalists continue to cover a broad range of business, financial and economic issues to the highest standard. Notwithstanding the relentless pressure to produce content to satisfy the public’s appetite for news in the information age, the core skills of journalists to assimilate and convey complex information at pace and across multiple platforms remains highly impressive and should be commended and recognised.”

Carolan Lennon, Managing Director, open eir, awards sponsor, added: “This year marks open eir’s fifth year of partnership with UCD Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School in sponsoring this awards programme. While advances in technology have enabled individuals to publish across multiple platforms, the role of trusted and high quality business journalism remains as important as ever. It is appropriate therefore that the individual and collective contribution to society made by business journalists is recognised and, as sponsor, we congratulate this year’s winners.”

This year’s independent judging panel comprised of business, journalism, economic and academic leaders: - Emer Gilvarry; Partner, Mason Hayes & Curran (Chair); Jim Aughney, Journalist, media and finance consultant; Dr. Mary Canning, Course Director Master of Accounting, UCD Smurfit School; Pat Costello, Former CEO, Chartered Accountants Ireland; Aidan Cotter, Former CEO Bord Bia; Jon Ihle, Head of Communications, Goodbody; Marketing Professor Damien McLoughlin, UCD Smurfit School; Ronan Murphy, Chairman, Business in the Community Ireland; Orlagh Nevin, Director of Sales, Marketing and Service, open eir (sponsor); Breege O’Donoghue,  Former Board Member & Group Director Penneys/Primark; Emmet Oliver, Director of Communications, Irish League of Credit Unions; Rodney Rice, former RTÉ broadcaster; and Accounting Professor Eamonn Walsh, UCD Smurfit School.

Discover our Rankings and Accreditations